Showing posts with label RHOK. Show all posts
Showing posts with label RHOK. Show all posts

3.08.2011

My Other Gig...


Today my alter ego "Mrs Bundy" is posting at The RHOK. Please stop by and tell me 'What's in YOUR pockets?'




My confession for today: I am in serious need of a mini weekend trip away


12.06.2010

McLinky Monday-Holiday Cookies

The RHOK


Today on The RHOK Mrs Sinclair wants us all to share our favorite holiday cookie. So I am sharing 2 recipes that my girls and I make every year.

Spiced Shortbread

1 1/4 cups flour

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4teaspoon ginger

1/8teaspoon cloves

1/2 cup butter

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a mixing bowl combine flour,sugar and spices.

Cut in butter till mixture resembles fine crumbs and starts to cling. Form the mixture into a ball and knead until smooth.

On an ungreased cookie sheet pat o roll the dough into an 8 inch circle.With a knife or pizza cutter , cut circle into 16 pie-shaped wedges.

Bake for 25 to 30 mintuesCut circle into wedges again while warm.

Cool on the cookie sheet for 5 mintues.

Melt chocolate(almond bark) and drizzle on top of the cookies. I use dark chocolate and white chocolate. Yummy!!!!




NEIMAN-MARCUS COOKIES
(Recipe may be halved)

2 cups butter
24 oz chocolate chips
4 cups flour
2 cups brown sugar
2 tsp. soda
1 tsp. salt
2 cups sugar
1 8 oz. Hershey Bar (grated)
5 cups blended oatmeal
4 eggs
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. vanilla
3 cups chopped nuts (your choice)

Measure oatmeal, and blend in a blender to a fine powder. Cream the butter and both sugars. Add eggs and vanilla, mix together with flour, oatmeal, salt, baking powder, and soda. Add chocolate chips, Hershey Bar, and nuts. Roll into balls, and place two inches apart on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Makes 112 cookies.
The childrens teachers LOVE these!!!
Happy baking and eating!!!


My confession for today: I am making the NM cookies on Friday for a Holiday Party on Sunday



11.29.2010

McLinky Monday-Holiday Decor

Before I get to todays McLinky Monday I just have to let you know another SSS post has been spotted on the big wide world of web! Click HERE to see if this is YOUR exchange partner....

Today over on The RHOK Mrs Edwards is asking us When we put up our holiday decor?

Generally my tree goes up the day after Thanksgiving but this year the tree went up 2 days before Thanksgiving because I had to buy a new pre-lit tree this year and I had to make sure all the lights were in working order. I can with much confidence say the lights all work.


I went with a taller slimmer tree vs the bigger bottomed tree, 2 out of 3 dentists kiddos didn't like the new tree look. Also Eric wanted the black OR purple tree from garden ridge I had to completely veto that, I still have a little tradition left in me and just like I like my hot chocolate with marshmallows and my bagels toasted, I like my trees green...


We were to put up all the tree decorations last night BUT Abby had to go and get herself a boyfriend and wasn't home until after 9pm so my tree still looks like this....



I have 2 huge closets full of Christmas decorations but this year I am keeping it simple and just hanging a wreath outside and decorating the tree...well, provided Reese and Jess don't go getting a GF or BF I will be decorating a tree...teenagers =)

So tell me how much decorating do you do? Or better yet why don't you join us for todays McLinky Monday? It's easy...

1. Answer the question on your blog (or in the comments sections if you haven't a blog).
2. If you answer the question on your blog, add your name and direct link to our MckLinky.
3. Grab our button from the sidebar and post it either in your reply post or on your blog.
4. Follow our blog, if you don't already.
5. Be sure to visit some or all of the blogs who link up and share some comment love.
6. Enjoy and have some fun!
The RHOK



My confession for today: Jessica had her first real photo shoot and got 'cubed'





11.22.2010

McLinky Monday-Black Friday

Today over on The RHOKMrs Albright is asking us....

What your routine is for Black Friday. How do you prepare for it? Do you have a good Black Friday story? Or do you not even attempt to get out and fight the chaos?

I may be CRAZY but I am not a CRAZIE. Typically my BF consists of coming out of a turkey induced coma, eating leftovers and putting up our Christmas tree.

*disclaimer* No offense meant to CRAZIES I respect your need to wake up at 2 am,stand in line,fight the masses all in the name of saving some moolah! My own daughter is a CRAZIE and has been Black Friday' N it up for years with her Aunt Kayleen...

One of my favorite sites to visit before BF is Gottadeal They have some of the BEST forums I have found.



The RHOK
Now we want to know all about your experiences, thoughts, websites, and deals for Black Friday. Here are the rules:

1. Answer the question on your blog (or in the comments sections if you haven't a blog).

2. If you answer the question on your blog, add your name and direct link to our MckLinky.


3. Grab our button from the sidebar and post it either in your reply post or on your blog.


4. Follow our blog, if you don't already.


5. Be sure to visit some or all of the blogs who link up and share some comment love.


6. Enjoy and have some fun!

My confession for today: Our Christmas tree died(well the lights did) last year, so today I am headed out to find a new pre-lit tree

11.16.2010

MckLinky Monday: What I Am Thankful For

The RHOK

Today Mrs ♥Hart♥ asks us what we are thankful for...her post is FanTabuLous!

While I am thankful for some of the same things as you, God,Family,Health,Friends...the main thing I am thankful for is...TIME...it's simple for me today...

For yesterday and the day before and the day before etc...Those are the memories I am holding near and dear...for Today and all that it holds and has yet to be seen, as those will be tomorrows memories ...because we really never know what Tomorrow will hold....so hug and kiss your family,call that friend you haven't talked to in ages,wave at your neighbor and Thank God you have a today...and the time to do and say what you can...


Now it is your turn, what are you thankful for? Join us over on The RHOK

Rules:

1. Answer the question on your blog (or in the comments sections if you haven't a blog).

2. If you answer the question on your blog, add your name to MckLinky so that we all can discover the brilliance that is your mind.

3. Grab our button from the sidebar and post it either in your reply post or on your blog.

4. Enjoy and have some fun!


My confession for today: Tomorrow is Mrs Bundys debut post on The RHOK! Oh the nerves =)



11.12.2010

What is your favorite food...

...on the Thanksgiving table?

The RHOK

Miss Priss over at The RHOK is asking us what our Fav food for Thanksgiving is...this one is EASY for me, without a doubt it is my Mother-In-Laws sausage dressing. I look forward to it every year, it is beyond yummy! If you visit more than one house(like we do) for the holidays this is a nice change...Here is the recipe in-case you wanna change things up this year!

Ingredients:
1# sausage (hot, regular or sage)
2 pkgs. (8 oz. ea.) cornbread stuffing ( I try and find Pepperidge Farm but others will do)
2 slices white bread, cubed
1 cup sliced scallions (or onions)
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
1-1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 cans chicken broth (approx.14-1/2 oz. each)
3 eggs, slightly beaten

For Topping:
1 Tablespoon fresh chopped parsley (or 1-l/2 teaspoon dried)
1/2 c. shredded Cheddar cheese

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Crumble and brown sausage and drain. Combine with other ingredients except for topping ingredients..Pour into 3 quart baking dish, sprinkle with parsley and cheese for topping. Bake uncovered for 30-35 minutes.

So do YOU have a favorite dish for the holidays?

My Confession for Today: I can't believe that Thanksgiving is only 17 days away!


11.08.2010

Mrs Bundy



As in AL not Ted oh goodness that would be bad bad bad,,,,

So the ladies over at the RHOK asked me to join them and what's any good Okie girl gonna do? Okay so I fidgeted and got hives because it is a commitment...

I can barely keep up here...right? Let alone my new review blog...

However I have faith in the RHOK ,it won't appeal to you all because you will think it is ONLY for Oklahoma bloggers...but it's not...it's more than that ...there will be McLinky Mondays and well other posts that you may wanna join in on...

I know this is a BIG big BIG blogging world...and we all make decisions on who we subscribe to or follow...let me just say as a NEW part of the RHOK I will speak for the lil person,the unknown,the hiding in a cubby hole blogger...because I do believe we ALL have a voice ...I am all of the above...I have blogger-meet-up anxiety, I hide in the cubby hole, I am the lil person....I am the unknown...I am YOU!

This blog will stay the same...I will continue to post about my FAMS and all that goes along with it BUT I would LOVE to have you join us over @ the RHOK too!

My confession for today: Being Mrs Bundy is gonna be a good thing...

photo courtesy google images thankyouverymuch


9.13.2010

Favorites

The ladies over at the Real Housewives of Oklahoma or RHOK for short have a meme for us today...

Favorites:

Favorite Actor
This is a hard one for me because I love some good eye candy just like the next girl or guy...When I was younger It was Luke Skywalker that did it for me...then in my teens I loved me some 'Blackie' aka John Stamos then came the likes of Gerard Butler-Have you seen 300? BUT in the end the guy that has won me over is Jack...


Favorite Actress
Another hard choice because I so enjoy Sandra,Gweneth,Uma,Cameron and Kate however my favorite would be Renee...



Favorite Movie
You all do know I am decisionally challenged right? and narrowing things down is very difficult for me! Under the Tuscan Sun is my rainy day movie but my all time fav would have to be As Good As It Gets


Favorite Band
Like prolly every other teenage product of the 80's I LOVED NKOTB *swoon* and then I got a lil older and it was Bon Jovi and Madonna will forever be a fav... but the fact I am almost a fossil I will have to say Lady as in Antebellum...tryin to be current ya'll





Favorite Musical
I have 2 Grease and Rent!





Favorite Novel
Is there a difference between a book and a novel? because when I think of novel I think of Jane Austin but when I think of book I think of Janet Evanovich...

Favorite Cuisine
Steak,lobster,carnitas tacos,a good burger...food I just like food all food I am an equal opportunity eater

Favorite Wine
Reds,Whites,Blush I like em all



Favorite Store
amazon because they pretty much have everything and anything!



Favorite Vampire
I have 2 just like my good friend Dawn and boy are they ever yummy...Alexander Skarsgard and Ian Somerhalder ummm 'Bite Me!' =)



Favorite Primetime TV Series
While I love me some good TV like Modern Family and Parenthood GLEE is the winner

Favorite Time Waster
One word FACEBOOK

Phew this is a long meme =)

Favorite Chore
Hahahaha LOL Hahahaha ummm NO

Favorite Quote
From As Good As It Gets *tear*
Melvin Udall: I've got a really great compliment for you, and it's true.
Carol Connelly: I'm so afraid you're about to say something awful.
Melvin Udall: Don't be pessimistic, it's not your style. Okay, here I go: Clearly, a mistake. I've got this, what - ailment? My doctor, a shrink that I used to go to all the time, he says that in fifty or sixty percent of the cases, a pill really helps. I *hate* pills, very dangerous thing, pills. Hate. I'm using the word "hate" here, about pills. Hate. My compliment is, that night when you came over and told me that you would never... well, you were there, you know what you said. Well, my compliment to you is, the next morning, I started taking the pills.
Carol Connelly: I don't quite get how that's a compliment for me.
Melvin Udall: You make me want to be a better man.
Carol Connelly: ...That's maybe the best compliment of my life.
Melvin Udall: Well, maybe I overshot a little, because I was aiming at just enough to keep you from walking out.


Favorite Smell
The first fire of the season, fall, rain and strangly enough I like the smell of gasoline-prolly a vitamin deficiency

Favorite Vacation Spot
ANY place tropical!!!

The RHOK

My confession for today: I have a dr appt today wish HIM luck-I'm a total mess today!


8.24.2010

Liar Liar Pants On Fire

The RHOK


The ladies over at the RHOK have a fun McLinky Monday called 2 truths and a lie...But It's not Monday you say...that was yesterday you say...work with me here please, I am always a day late and a dollar short plus I have been laid up in bed since Friday with a pinched nerve in my back, so a little sympathy,cards,flowers or cash is an appropriate way to show your support in my time of need...

Now on with the show

Today we are going to play a game called Two Truths and a Lie.
I will tell you three things about myself and you try to figure out which one is the lie.

I'll let you know the answer in the comments section or in my next post

♥ I was in a commercial
♥ I hate cooking
♥ I once sang all I want for Christmas are my 2 front teeth in a play

Do you know which one is the lie?
_________________________

♥ My sister and I are the same age for 10 days
♥ Fall is my favorite season
♥ I can't stand candles or scents of any kind

Do you know which one is the lie?
__________________________

♥ I sleep with a Fan year round
♥ I love to go out and karaoke the night away
♥ Over the course of my life I have owned 11 different cars

Do you know which one is the lie?
____________________________

♥ I have 2 tattoos
♥ I love flying
♥ I can't whistle

Do you know which one is the lie?
____________________________

♥ I love lemon in my tea
♥ I got an operation game piece stuck up my nose
♥ I used to be a parts runner for an auto parts store

Do you know which one is the lie?
___________________________

There may be a special lil surprise for the first person who happens to know all the lies... there are 5 total lies, one in each group of 3...

My confession for today: It's raining today, I LOVE the rain and that's No lie!




7.26.2010

Fantasy Island

The RHOK


The ladies over at RHOK are asking 'What is your idea of a favorite vacation?'

Boss The Plane The Plane....

We have taken many vacations over the years and I have enjoyed them all BUT the question is MY idea of a favorite vacation...

Let's stop and look at the word vacation-
Pronunciation: \vā-ˈkā-shən\
Function: noun
Usage: often attributive
Etymology: Middle English vacacioun, from Anglo-French vacacion, from Latin vacation-, vacatio freedom, exemption, from vacare
Date: 14th century

1: A vacation is a period of time during which you relax and enjoy yourself away from home.

When I am on va-ka-shen I don't wanna do anything but relax NONE of our previous vacations have been about re-lax-A-shen...more like go,go,go

So I give you Bora Bora

 photos google images


Sure it's touristy but I look at those photos and go AHHHhhhh...one day my friends one day...lounging on the beach a cool ocean breeze and handsome half nekkid cabana boy at my beckon call bringing me fruity drinks...yep that's IDEAL!

Of course there are several other tropical destinations I would love to visit like Seychelles island off the east coast of Africa,Curacao Located in the Caribbean Sea, or the Pink Sand Beaches of Harbour Island

So what's YOUR ideal vacation?

My confession for today: IF your gonna dream...dream BIG

5.24.2010

Where are you going?

So those wonderful ladies of RHOK are at it again this week...with the question "Where are you going on summer vacation?"

The RHOK

Hold on a sec I gotta savor the moment...SUMMER is here!

Okay let's talk summer vacations...when the kiddos were younger planning a vacation was much easier-except for the car sickness-that wasn't fun at all OR all the flat tires, we are always guaranteed at least ONE flat tire on every single trip we have ever taken...last yr I was blessed with 2 flat tires on one trip...lovely...I know you wanna be me =)

Eric and I got to pick where we went and no one complained, we just strapped them into the car seats and away we went...fast forward to present day where EVERYONE has an opinion...

Since all 3 of them have reached the age of hormonal imbalance and OMGosh mom we are in a dead zone my cell doesn't work, we have taken ONE vacation that everyone loved...last years trip to Tombstone,Grand Canyon,Pagosa Springs and Taos-that trip had something for everyone. Lots of smiles...

We have taken them to South Padre and Abby hated it, the seaweed freaked her out...it was my favorite trip, I wanna go back...

Cue Eric...he dislikes the sun and not a fan of the ocean...he is constantly cramping my style with grumbles under his breath of skin cancer....ummm hello sunscreen...He is a Mountain Man and I the Beach Bunny...

So here we are trying to decide where to go...one wants to go to Hot Springs, One to Gulf Shores and one to Branson...so I put the 3 choices in a hat and the destination is Branson...a place we have been more times than I can count...but the biggest kid I own eric LOVES rides so Silver Dollar City it is...I was really hoping for Gulf Shores but BP anyone...

I don't ride, rides you can read about one of our previous trips to Branson Here and see the ONLY ride I rode...I had my hands in the air and everything...

Branson has some great shopping,lots of shows,good food,go carts,mini golf,wax museums, and it's not a bad drive over...we still travel with a puke bucket...just in case...


So tell me...what are your summer plans? Have a favorite destination? Ever been to Branson?

My confession for today: Now to pick lodging...this will be our first year that we need 2 rooms YIKES!


5.10.2010

A to Z...Get 2 Know Me



So those lovely ladies over @ The RHOK do this mclinky monday where they give you a question and you answer it. This weeks q is Know me from A-Z...

so in an effort to help you get to know more about me using the alphabet... here are some lil tidbits...

A is for Abby my beautiful and sweet oldest daughter, I was so elated to find out I was having a little girl. I had her name Abby Lain picked that same day and never wavered...


B is for Bag Lady I LOVE bags,purses,handbags,totes,clutches. I am embarrassed to tell you how many I own. Right now I am coveting this lil beauty and you can be summer ready with your own Beach Bag too.


C is for Coffee it makes my world go round and round. Oh how I love thee with Hershey's

D is for Doggers my lil loyal companion is Ginger, she never back-talks and loves me no matter what


E is for Eric my husband. Who lets me boss him around and lets me think I am always right, who loves me in-spite of all my flaws..




F is for FaceBook I ♥ FB...friend me or join my decisionally challenged page-links are on my sidebar

G is for God, my Rock and Savior

H is for Housewife more specifically The Real Housewives of....on Bravo, my guilty pleasure

I is for Italy a place I would love to visit

J is for Jessica my youngest,my baby, she was to be named Ashlyn Morgan had her name picked out for months even had stuff monogrammed with that name...then the day she was born Eric tells me he doesn't like that name UGH-well he liked Morgan b/c that was his very good friends last name it was Ashlyn he didn't favor, we were literally leaving the hospital and the staff is saying YOU MUST NAME THIS CHILD FOR THE BC!


K is for KISS the band,the movie Detroit Rock City(great movie) and Gene Simmons Family Jewels another guilty pleasure...all KISS related

L is for Laughing Cow Cheese LOVE this stuff! It comes in the perfect portion size and it is YUMMY!

M is for Mom... my mom whom I would be lost without,she is one-of-a-kind,she is beautiful,she has a kind heart and soul she is my Mom


N is for New York Style Bagel Crisps one of my favorite snacks-try dipping them in hummus

O is for outlaw and I am related to one Belle Star aka Myra Belle Shirley

P is for punctuality, I am always on time or early for everything-being late is not in my vocabulary...just ask my mom

Q is for Quirks I have many and I enjoy hearing other peeps-a few of mine I dip my fries in real mayo,I can't sleep without a fan blowing and not a ceiling fan but a box fan,I dip my popcorn in tea,I can not watch a movie in a theater I wait for the DVD release...make me feel normal...PLEASE share some of your quirks...

R is for Reese my son, my sweet son who looked like an alien when he was born with his cone-head, he was suppose to be named Ethan but I've never met an alien named Ethan...he was 2 weeks early weighed 9lbs1oz and 21inches long...he is my baby boy and I don't think he looks like an alien anymore


S is for Sisters and I have two Rebecca and Laura and I love 'em more than KISS,Laughing Cow Cheese and NY Style bagel Crisps


T is for Two Hours-that's how long it has taken me to make it to the letter T...T is also for Twitter and I am not a tweeter I have an account but rarely check it

U is for Umbrella...I do not own one-I do however like Rhiannas song Umbrella

V is for vacation, summer vacation ahhhh, I am trying to come up with a fun destination for this year-it will be hard to top last years trip to Grand Canyon National Park,Tombstone,Taos and Pagosa Springs

W is for Wii which is currently collecting dust

X is for kisses as in X♥X♥ and I love giving them and receiving them

Y is for Yearbook photo-heres mine BA Class of 89


Z is for Zany...that's me....

My confession for today: Guess what I got for Mothers Day...go ahead I'll wait....okay I'll give you a hint hangman style:2 words: P_ K_ / _ASS

*disclaimer* I screwed up my very first time to participate in a RHOK event... go figure...I didn't know I was suppose to answer specific questions-they'll prolly never invite me back...so sorry to anyone visiting from RHOK so to help you out a little... I will be 40 this year,I have a queen size bed which i am still pissed that i allowed eric to talk me into downsizing,green is my favorite color,I awake at 5:45am,I prefer silver to gold,I'm right handed,I am 5'9 but I'm so round you can't tell it, I do wear undies me and the granny panty are like this &, I'm NEVER late(see above) I love ALL veggies garden fresh tomatoes being my fav,I love all the animals at the zoo except the snakes, I am decisionally challenged and obviously can't follow directions...